Find Sources
- PubMed / MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) This link opens in a new windowCollection of oral science resources.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, international database covering a wide variety of health sciences topics. Sometimes called "the European PubMed." Includes preprints from MedRXiv and BioRXiv.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Science Citation Index,1965-; Social Science Citation Index, 1965-; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) –1990-present; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) –1990-present.
- BioDigital Human"The most complete, scientifically accurate, interactive 3D body ever assembled." Requires an individual account using a BU email address.
- VH Dissector This link opens in a new windowBuilt on real anatomy from the National Library of Medicine’s Visible Human Project®, the VH Dissector for Medical Education provides an integrated environment for anatomical education and reference. Interact with correlated 3D and cross-sectional views of over 2,000 anatomical structures through identification, dissection, assembly and rotation, the VH Dissector helps you understand the complex three-dimensional structure of the human body.
For more databases, head to our A-Z Database list!
- Use Stat!Ref for background informationPLEASE NOTE: It is important to log out of e-textbooks when you are finished to ensure that others will also be able to use them.
Diagnosis and treatment planning in dentistry ; Fourth edition. by
"A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations"
ISBN: 0323809782Publication Date: 2023
Pediatric Dentistry ; 1st ed. 2022. by
This textbook provides dental practitioners and students with all the knowledge required in order to treat optimally the oral conditions encountered in children and adolescents and to offer appropriate guidance on subsequent oral health self-care. The opening chapters are designed to assist readers in providing empathic care on the basis of a sound understanding of the processes of physical and psychological maturation. The use of sedation and anesthesia is then discussed, followed by detailed information on such key topics as tooth eruption and shedding, preventive and interceptive orthodontics, and control of dental caries. Restoration procedures and pulp treatment necessitated by dental caries, trauma and/or developmental anomalies are clearly described, with reference to relevant advances in dental technology and materials. Subsequent chapters focus on conditions compromising dental or general oral health in the pediatric age group, such as periodontal diseases, dental wear, dental anomalies, TMJ disorders, and soft tissue lesions. The book concludes by examining treatment approaches in children and adolescents with disabilities, syndromes, chronic diseases, craniofacial abnormalities, and generally advocating children centered dentistry as it affects their quality of life.
ISBN: 9783030780036Publication Date: 2022
Oral pathology ; Third edition. by
The field of oral pathology is challenging for even the most highly trained pathologists. Comprehensive and richly illustrated, Oral Pathology, 3rd Edition, covers the full histologic range of presentation of oral disease, serving as a handy bench manual for the practicing pathologist signing out cases in the oral mucosa, salivary glands, and jawbones. Dr. Sook-Bin Woo, board certified in both oral pathology and oral medicine, draws on her extensive clinical experience to help you achieve diagnostic certainty for even the most complex lesions.
ISBN: 0323829198Publication Date: 2023
-
Search BU Librariesfor books on dental health or oral health: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books
- The Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)The monthly publication of the ADA, JADA is a peer-reviewed, premier resource for the latest dental literature.
- Journal of Dental HygienePublished by the ADHA, this peer-reviewed journal is an important resource for dental hygienists.
- International Journal of Dental HygieneThis journal is the official publication of the International Federation of Dental Hygienists (IFDH), so it is great for dental hygienists looking for up-to-date global literature.
- Journal of Dental ResearchThis peer-reviewed journal focuses on new research in all aspects of dentistry and the oral cavity.
- Journal of Primary Care Dentistry and Oral HealthThis peer-reviewed and open access journal covers dental and oral health topics for primary care dentists.
- Journal of Dentistry for ChildrenPublished by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD), this journal covers a range of topics concerning the clinical dental care of children.
- Contemporary Pediatric DentistryThis peer-reviewed, open access online journal is international in scope and is dedicated to all facets of pediatric dentistry.
Trusted Resources
- ADA Center for Evidence-Based DentistryEvidence-based clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary studies on dentistry.
- National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial ResearchAccording to the NIDCR, they are "the federal government's lead agency for scientific research on dental, oral and craniofacial health and disease."
Point of Care Resources
- Medline Plus: Dental HealthA resource from the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus provides excellent easy-to-read dental health information for the point-of-care.
- CDC Division of Oral HealthThe CDC's oral health website, which includes information on preventing oral diseases, health disparities in oral health, oral health communications resources and more.
Oral Health Topics
- ADA: Oral Health TopicsA-Z oral health topics list from the ADA.
- ADA Glossary of Dental Administrative TermsDefinitions of terms relevant to dental benefit plans.
- ADA Tooth Eruption ChartsBaby teeth and permanent teeth eruption charts from the ADA.
Dental Statistics and Policy
- CDC: FastStats: Oral and Dental HealthOral and dental health statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.
- CDC: National Oral Health Surveillance SystemAccording to the National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS), its purpose is "to monitor the incidence of oral diseases, use of the oral healthcare delivery system, and status of community water fluoridation."
- CDC: Synopses of State and Territorial Dental Public Health ProgramsAccording to the CDC, this resource contains "information regarding workforce, programs, policies, and administrative factors related to oral health programs in states and other jurisdictions."
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey: Dental Visits/Use/Events and ExpendituresThis survey from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality aims to collect a variety of dental care statistics from the American public.
- JoVE Dental Medicine PlaylistJoVE is a database of peer-reviewed scientific videos with everything from medical education to clinical procedures. This is a curated playlist of videos on dental topics that BU currently has access to based on our subscriptions.