Evidence-Based Dentistry Resources
- BMJ Best PracticeBMJ Best Practice is a tool that supports decision-making at the point of care. Uniquely designed to help healthcare professionals follow the clinical workflow. Evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled TrialsEBM database containing bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsA full-text EBM database containing meta-reviews of current medical research.
- Cochrane LibraryThis multifile database allows simultaneous searching of EBM Review databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI EssentialsBest-evidence answers to clinical questions such as symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens. Presents highly structured content, tightly integrated and hyperlinked to thousands of calculators, articles, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, and evidence summaries within EE+. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
- Evidence searchSearch interface for locating evidence-based practice information from UK National Health Service sources.
- Health Evidence"Search healthevidence.org for access to 7,475 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. We search the published literature and compile public health relevant reviews -- eliminating your need to search and screen individual databases."
- Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)PEDro was “developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.”
- PubMed Clinical Queries"This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching."
- EBM Search Process
- EBM Tutorial One: Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine
- EBM Tutorial Two: Forming a Clinical Question
- PubMed Clinical Queries Search Tips
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Evidence-based Practice
- ClinicalTrials.gov
- MedlinePlus: Evaluating Health Information
- PROMIS
- MedlinePlus: Understanding Medical Research
- Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
- JBI (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute)
Government Agencies and Resources
General Guidelines
- ADA: Clinical Practice Guidelines
- ADA Glossary of Dental Clinical and Administrative Terms
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Evidence-based Practice
- American Dental Association: Oral Health Topics
- BDJ Evidence-based dentistry collection
- Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine Toronto: Critical Appraisal Worksheets
- Cochrane Oral Health Group
- Dental Elf, The
- DentalCare.com
- International Centre for Evidence-Based Oral Health
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
- PubMed Health
- Systematic Reviews of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine
Professional Organizations
Clinical Guidelines
- ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry: Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Alzheimer’s Association: Guidelines
- American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (AAAAI): Guidelines
- American Academy of Dermatology: Guidelines
- American Academy of Neurology: Guidelines
- American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO): Guidelines
- American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNSF): Guidelines
- American Academy of Pain Medicine: Guidelines
- American Academy of Pediatrics: Policy
- American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM): Guidelines
- American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD): Guidelines
- American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists: Guidelines
- American Association of Respiratory Care: Guidelines
- American College of Cardiology: Guidelines and Quality Standards
- American College of Emergency Physicians: Guidelines
- American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons (ACFAS): Consensus Documents
- American College of Physicians: Guidelines
- American College of Rheumatology (ACR): Guidelines
- American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists: Guidelines
- American Geriatrics Society: Guidelines
- American Optometric Association: Clinical Practice Guidelines
- American Psychiatric Association: Clinical Practice Guidelines
- American Society of Anesthesiologists: Standards, Guidelines and Statements
- American Society of Hematology: Guidelines
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association: Guidelines
- American Thoracic Society (ATC): Guidelines
- American Urological Association (AUA): Guidelines
- American Veterinary Medical Association: Policy
- Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Autism Spectrum Disorder Guidelines
- Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ): Guidelines
- ECRI Library
- Guideline Central
- HIV: Guidelines
- Infectious Diseases Society of America: Guidelines
- National Comprehensive Cancer Network: Guidelines
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE): Guidelines
- Nursing Best Practice Guidelines
- Prevention and Screening Guidelines from the ICSI
- VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines
Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine Finding Information Framework
This framework will guide you to:
-
Categorize your questions
-
Understand types of information resources
-
Match the right resource to your questions
A project of the Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine EBM Vertical Integration Group
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Tutorials
- EBM Tutorial One: Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM)
- EBM Tutorial Two: Forming a Clinical Question
- Searching the Biomedical Literature for Evidence-Based Information: Parts I-IV
Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD) Tutorials
- EBD Tutorial One: Introduction to Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD)
- EBD Tutorial Two: Forming a Clinical Question
Other Videos & Tutorials