Ask a Librarian
Find Sources
- PubMed / MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, international database covering a wide variety of health sciences topics. Sometimes called "the European PubMed." Includes preprints from MedRXiv and BioRXiv.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Science Citation Index,1965-; Social Science Citation Index, 1965-; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) –1990-present; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) –1990-present.
Ballweg's physician assistant : a guide to clinical practice by
Designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, Ballweg's Physician Assistant, 7th Edition, helps you master all the core competencies needed for physician assistant certification, recertification, and clinical practice. It remains the only textbook that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. Ideal for both students and practicing PAs, it features a succinct, bulleted writing style, convenient tables, practical case studies, and clinical application questions that enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications
ISBN: 0323695817Publication Date: 2021
The Physical Exam by
This book invites clinicians to take a fresh look at the routine physical examination by outlining in detail how they can adapt a more efficient, regional approach to the exam activity. By adopting the systematic sequence and focus provided in this novel title, clinicians can offer a more modern physical examination, one that may prove more productive than the methods taught in the pre-imaging era.The Physical Exam: An Innovative Approach in the Age of Imaging offers a unique, step-by-step sequence for the physical exam. The text guides the clinician through a series of steps that involve observing, touching and listening - in an organized sequence, region by region - of all organ systems. The general approach is applicable to every physical examination and can be modified when appropriate. Express pathways are provided so that the clinicians can quickly assess the general health of the patient while focusing on the presenting problem. A major contribution to the diagnostic literature, the book offers a format and level of complexity that will be of significant value to internal medicine and family physicians, emergency professionals, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, and medical students.
ISBN: 3319638467Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Smith's patient-centered interviewing : an evidence-based method by
A comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter"--
"Our goal in this text is to present in a logical, step-by-step fashion the behaviors that are necessary to conduct an effective and efficient biopsychosocial interview. Interviewing is the most important and most difficult skill learners must master in their clinical careers. The book is designed for learners in medicine, advanced-practice nursing, physician assistant, and other health-related disciplines where communication and relational skills are central
ISBN: 1259644634Publication Date: 2019
Essential clinical procedures by
Anoscopy -- Arterial puncture -- Blood pressure measurement -- Casting and splinting -- Cryosurgery -- Dermatologic procedures -- Draining/evacuation of subungual hematomas -- Endometrial biopsy -- Endotracheal intubation -- Epistaxis and nasal foreign body removal -- Foot examination of the patient with diabetes -- Incision and drainage of an abscess -- Injections -- Inserting intravenous catheters -- Joint and bursal aspiration -- Local anesthesia -- Lumbar puncture -- Nasogastric tube placement -- Obtaining blood cultures -- Office pulmonary function testing -- Introduction to point-of-care ultrasonography (POCUS) -- Procedural sedation -- Recording an electrocardiogram -- Reduction of the shoulder/finger subluxations -- Removal of cerumen and foreign bodies from the ear -- Ring removal -- The pelvic examination and obtaining a routine Papanicolaou smear -- Trauma-oriented ocular examination, corneal abrasion, and ocular foreign body removal -- Treating ingrown toenails -- Urinary bladder catheterization -- Venipuncture -- Wound closure -- Wound dressing techniques -- Informed consent -- Standard precautions -- Sterile technique -- Patient education concepts -- Outpatient coding for medical services -- Procedural notes and documentation -- Giving sad and bad news.
ISBN: 0323624685Publication Date: 2020
- The Journal of Physician Assistant EducationJournal of Physician Assistant Education is dedicated to advancing physician assistant (PA) education by publishing ethically produced, scholarly manuscripts germane to PA educators and by providing a forum for the sharing of ideas and innovations that will enhance the education of PA students.
- Physician assistants' prescribing reference.The official drug reference of the AAPA (American Academy of Physician Assistants). It provides product monographs and prescribing information on over 2,300 products and includes AAPA Chapters Listing.
- JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association.JAMA is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine.
- The New England journal of medicineThe New England Journal of Medicine is a weekly medical journal published by the Massachusetts Medical Society. Founded in 1812, the journal is among the most prestigious peer-reviewed medical journals.
- PA Exam Prep This link opens in a new windowTest prep resource with features to help students study and prepare for the PANCE and PANRE exams. NOTE: first-time users must set up an individual account at https://www-paexamprep-com.ezproxy.bu.edu/institution
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationMore than eight hours of video content that delivers head-to-toe physical examination technique instruction.
- BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window"The most complete, scientifically accurate, interactive 3D body ever assembled." Requires an individual account using a BU email address.
- NEJM Medical VideosBrowse videos in clinical medicine from the New England Journal of Medicine.
- JoVEReview 18,000+ videos of laboratory methods and science concepts.