Find Print and Online Books
Promoting Health Equity Among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Adolescents A Practical Guide by
Racial and ethnic minority youth have less access to health care and experience health disparities that are linked to social determinants that impact their health and well-being. This book is a practical reference for clinicians caring for racially and ethnically diverse adolescents seeking to effectively identify and address the social structures and factors that influence their health and well-being to promote health equity. It provides an overview of key health equity, population health and cultural competency principles and highlights clinical, teaching, and research skills critical to promoting health equity. Clinically oriented chapters provide guidance on strength-based approaches and strategies that clinicians can integrate in their encounters with diverse youth and feature clinical vignettes, clinical pearls and reflection questions to promote the application of concepts to practice. Promoting Health Equity Among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Adolescents is a valuable resource for clinicians across all areas of medicine.
ISBN: 9783319972053Publication Date: 2019
Community-Based Participatory Research for Health by
"The third edition of Community-Based Participatory Research For Health provides the latest research and practice of community-based participatory research (CBPR). This new edition will maintain its appeal for students and emerging academics, and will strengthen its appeal to other audiences through its practitioner-focused orientation. The book provides a through introduction to CBPR, including history and theory as well as emerging trends and promising practices in the field. Third edition includes new chapters on hot-button topics, including cultural humility, trust, and youth participatory action research as well as new and updated case studies, some of which draw on an exciting eight-year research effort of a national partnership, Research for Improved Health (RIH). Appendices, many of which will be online only, present new CBPR tools, in the text as well as through web-links, such as examples of data sharing and ownership agreements, measurement instruments from national partnerships, a policy-analysis tool, and a web-based interactive training opportunity"--
ISBN: 9781119258858Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Music, health and wellbeing : exploring music for health equity and social justice by ISBN: 9781349952847Publication Date: 2018
Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence With Privacy, Ethics, Bias, Health Equity, Best Practices, and Case Studies by
This book provides a comprehensive explanation of precision (i.e., personalized) healthcare and explores how it can be advanced through artificial intelligence (AI) and other data-driven technologies. From improving the diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of many medical conditions to the effective implementation of precise patient care, this book will help you understand datasets produced from digital health technologies and IoT and teach you how to employ analytical methods such as convolutional neural networks and deep learning to analyze that data. You'll also see how this data-driven approach can enhance and democratize value-based healthcare delivery. Additionally, you'll learn how the convergence of AI and precision health is revolutionizing healthcare, including some of the most difficult challenges facing precision medicine, such as ethics, bias, privacy and health equity. Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence provides the groundwork for clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, and healthcare enthusiasts to apply AI to healthcare. What You Will Learn Understand the components required to facilitate precision health and personalized care Apply and implement precision health systems Overcome the challenges of delivering precision healthcare at scale Reconcile ethical and moral implications of delivering precision healthcare Gain insight into the hurdles providers face while implementing precision healthcare .
ISBN: 9781484291627Publication Date: 2023
Rural Health Disparities Public Health, Policy, and Planning Approaches by
This innovative resource offers a unique, multidisciplinary approach for the utilization of planning theory to eliminate health disparities in rural communities. The book provides tools in the public health, policy, and planning disciplines to help resolve significant differences in life expectancy and quality of life in these communities, concluding with a progressive vision for alleviating geographical health disparities on a local, national, and global scale. Chapters highlight models and approaches best suited to addressing this public health concern, suggesting action strategies focused around each of the three focus areas: 1. Public health: Elucidation of the contextual factors impacting the health of rural communities by: reporting statistical updates on a range of chronic and infectious diseases that disproportionately affect rural populations both globally and in the U.S.; providing discourse on the importance of addressing critical social determinants (global and national) that impede optimal health outcomes among rural populations; and, acknowledging the compositional factors of individuals who reside in rural spaces. 2. Public policy: Application of specific policy models to garner both public and political will towards sustainable policy change to improve healthy living in rural spaces. 3. Rural planning: Identification of national and international planning models that can be used to design strategic plans targeted to improve quality of life, create sustainable development, and establish economic well-being and growth in rural communities. Rural Health Disparities: Public Health, Policy, and Planning Approaches will find an engaged audience among non-profit organizations, planners, public health practitioners, policy analysts, and public interest groups, as well as rural health advocates and students enrolled in planning, public policy, and/or public health courses.
ISBN: 9783030114671
The Science of Health Disparities Research by
"Health disparities research is a multi-faceted field that includes basic biological, clinical, social and behavioral sciences with the goal of identifying, understanding, preventing, diagnosing and treating or intervening on diseases, disorders and other conditions that are unique to, or more prevalent in racial and ethnic minority populations, socially disadvantaged communities (e.g. low education, low income) and rural communities. In the past decade, there has been growing interest in understanding and addressing disparities in health and outcomes that persist among various population subgroups. Addressing health disparities is of increasing importance nationally and globally. This has resulted in various efforts focused on promoting action to reduce and eventually eliminate avoidable inequalities, by addressing social, historical and contemporary injustices. This textbook will serve as the primary source of new knowledge on clinical and translational health disparities science. The overall purpose is to provide a comprehensive and cohesive framework on the principles and applications of health disparities research, which requires an interdisciplinary approach and inclusion of the community in a participatory manner"--
ISBN: 9781119374848Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Health Disparities, Diversity, and Inclusion Context, Controversies, and Solutions by ISBN: 9781284090161Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Sickening by
"An event-by-event look at how institutionalized racism harms the health of African Americans in the twenty-first century"--
ISBN: 9781452966168Publication Date: 2021-08-17
- Search BU Librariesfor books on Cultural Competency: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books
- Search BU Librariesfor books on Healthcare Disparities: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books
- Search BU Librariesfor books on Minority Health: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books
- Search BU Librariesfor books on Rural Health: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books
Check out our book lists from the Graphic Medicine collection for more titles!
Find Print and Online Journals
- Search BU Librariesfor journals on Cultural Competency: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic journals
- Search BU Librariesfor journals on Healthcare Disparities: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic journals
- Search BU Librariesfor journals on Minority Health: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic journals
- Search BU Librariesfor journals on Rural Health: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic journals