LibGuides: Find Free Health Sciences Resources: Literature Research

Find Sources

PubMed / MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of education from early childhood through post-graduate levels. The database covers 1982 to the present.

Europe PMC
Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. Europe PMC is hosted by EMBL’s European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), an international, innovative and interdisciplinary research organisation which aims to make the world’s public biological data freely available to the scientific community.
Agricola
AGRICOLA, a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), contains over 6 million records encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied discipline.
MA Library Databases
Databases are made possible by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and by the Massachusetts Library System.

BioMedCentral (BMC)
BMC publishes various journals in medicine, dentistry, public health and more.
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
As the nation's health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health, safety, and security threats.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine that consists of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
CORE
The world's largest collection of open access research papers.
CABI Global Health
"The most comprehensive database of its kind, Global Health gives instant access to over 4 million research records dedicated to national, regional, and international public health. It is one of the most trusted databases in public health research and medical practice by researchers, librarians, faculties, students, and practitioners alike."