Ask a Librarian
Clinical Practice
- AccessMedicine Mobile
Full text on mobile site via BU (8 concurrent users) - AccessSurgery Mobile
Full text access on mobile site via BU - ACP Clinical Guidelines App
American College of Physicians mobile resources. - AIDSinfo
- BMJ Best Practice
Formerly BMJ Clinical Evidence. British Medical Journal: $49.95 - Calculate by QxMD
Medical calculator app - Cochrane Library
- DynaMed
Full text access via BU: After accessing DynaMed using your BU Kerberos, register for a personal account on DynaMed’s full site. Then download the app DynaMed (iOS and Android) and choose the Sign In option. Sign in with the personal account you’ve just created on the DynaMed full site. - EBMcalc
- Go2HIVInfo
Provides access to HIV information and direct access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) HIV/AIDS related websites. - JAMA Evidence
Register for full text access on mobile site via BU (3 concurrent users) - Prevention Task Force (formerly ePSS)
- PubMed for Handhelds
- Red Book
American Academy of Pediatrics: full text available via STAT!-ref - STAT!Ref
Full text access, 10 concurrent users. - UpToDate
Access main UpToDate site while on campus and register for an account (‘Register’ in upper right). Then install UpToDate mobile app and sign in with your account to use off campus.
Consumer Health Information
Dental Medicine
- ADA
American Dental Association
Drug Information
- DailyMed
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). - Epocrates Essentials
Free version available. - Medscape
Free drug database: includes herbal medications. Apple and Android versions. - NLM Drug Information Portal Mobile
Hazardous Materials
Medical Research
- Annual Reviews
- BMJ Group
British Medical Journal apps - BMJ App
British Medical Journal: full text via BU, iPad only - EBSCO Databases App
iOS-only: access to content via BU - IngentaConnect Mobile
Access to content on mobile site via BU - JAMA Network Apps
Journal of the American Medical Association: free for 6 months, then subscription-based. - Mobile Web of Knowledge
Register to access Web of Knowledge and Web of Science via BU - Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
3-month free trial of app via BU: $57 after trial - Natural Standard for Mobile
Natural medicines database: $79.95 - NEJM
New England Journal of Medicine - PubMed for Handhelds
- Read by QxMD
Choose fields/keywords/journals to recieve articles on topics of interest: connect to BU for links to full text when available. - Thieme Mobile
Ebooks available on tablet only: full text via BU - Wiley
Apps for a wide variety of books and journals published by Wiley
Psychiatry and Psychology
- American Psychiatric Association Mobile Device Pairing: Quick Start Guide
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) Mobile App available for sale for Apple and Android
Public Health
- CDC Mobile Apps
Apps for a variety of purposes from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - City of Boston
City App Showcase - Federal Government Mobile Apps Directory
- Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Show Me: A Communication Tool for Emergency Shelters - Prevention Task Force (formerly ePSS)
Sciences
- ACS Mobile
American Chemical Society: full text via BU - Annual Reviews Mobile
Allows ‘pairing’ a device for full text access on mobile site via BU - 4D Interactive Anatomy
Photographic anatomy tool. Register for an account to access BU's subscription. - Proceedings of the National Academy of Science (PNAS)
- SciFinder Mobile
Tutorials and Learning Tools
- 3D Brain
- AudioNote
- Full Code: Emergency Medicine Simulation
–First time sign in instructions (Kerberos authentication required)