Animal Welfare and Bioethics

A comprehensive database of more than 8,000 academic and popular journals covering many subjects.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) developed ALTBIB to provide access to PubMed citations for users seeking information on alternatives to animal testing. Many citations provide access to free full text.

"This database, created in 2000, is updated every three months with newly published scientific articles, books, and other publications related to improving or safeguarding the welfare of animals used in research."

A bibliographic database that indexes journal articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, technical reports, and other documents in psychology and the behavioral sciences. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.

Covers many science disciplines, including biochemistry, ecology, microbiology, neurosciences and many others. Materials indexed are in many languages. Coverage is 1989 to the present.

Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health, including publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. CINAHL dates from 1982 to the present. Limited concurrent users.

"The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs."

"The EthxWeb database contains journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics covering 1974-2009. While funding to maintain EthxWeb ceased in 2011 and new records have not been added since then, it still remains a useful resource for those interested in researching materials in an extensive range of topics related to bioethics."

A bibliographic database from the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University.Includes: books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

"[A] catalogue/compendium of inherited disorders, other (single-locus) traits, and genes in 298 animal species."

Over 311,000 full-text journal articles on the agricultural sciences, in addition to over 3.4 million citations. Includes information on plant and animal husbandry and the food system.

The primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Includes: Science Citation Index,1965-; Social Science Citation Index, 1965-; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) –1990-present; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) –1990-present.

The Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN) is the database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism. ZFIN provides a wide array of expertly curated, organized and cross-referenced zebrafish research data.