Ask a Librarian
Find Sources
- BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window"The most complete, scientifically accurate, interactive 3D body ever assembled." Requires an individual account using a BU email address.
- VH Dissector This link opens in a new windowBuilt on real anatomy from the National Library of Medicine’s Visible Human Project®, the VH Dissector for Medical Education provides an integrated environment for anatomical education and reference. Interact with correlated 3D and cross-sectional views of over 2,000 anatomical structures through identification, dissection, assembly and rotation, the VH Dissector helps you understand the complex three-dimensional structure of the human body.
- 4D Interactive Anatomy This link opens in a new windowPhotographic anatomy tool. Register for an account using BU email address to access BU's subscription.
Faculty members: please contact support@4danatomy.com to be set up with a faculty account. - MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowMedOne Education — Thieme's medical learning platform, provides users with access to Thieme’s collection of medical textbooks. Users have access to illustrated full-color medical textbooks covering anatomy, basic sciences, clinical sciences, dentistry, osteopathic/physical therapy, radiology and USMLE® test prep.
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide features head-to-toe and systems physical exam videos completely reshot with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowBooks, journals and multimedia for clinical topics, including calculators, drug info, practice guidelines, and patient handouts.
- GuidelineCentral This link opens in a new windowA free database that pulls together over 2,000 current clinical practice guidelines from leading medical societies into a single “library”, and makes them available to healthcare professionals as a quick-reference tool.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window“[A]uthoritative, analytic reviews in 37 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.”
- PubMed / MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, international database covering a wide variety of health sciences topics. Sometimes called "the European PubMed." Includes preprints from MedRXiv and BioRXiv.
For more databases, head to our A-Z Database list!
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by
An introduction to anatomy and physiology that covers cells; tissues; the skeletal, muscular, nervous, endocrine, vascular, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive systems; body temperature; metabolism; disease; and other related topics.
ISBN: 9780803622562Publication Date: 2010-10-06
Comparative Medicine by
This new volume provides a concise overview of the most basic and exciting chapters of comparative medicine with regards to physiology and function in healthy individuals. The book includes core concepts in anatomy and physiology in human and animal models, which are key to understanding comparative medicine and to making contributions to research in this area. While writing this book, the authors were in constant interdisciplinary dialogue. They aim to contribute to improvements in quality of life for human and animal patients.
ISBN: 9783709115596Publication Date: 2013-12-09
A Photographic Atlas for the Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory by
Photographic Atlas for the Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory, Sixth Edition by Kent M. VanDeGraaff, David A. Morton, and John L. Crawley is designed for all students taking courses in human anatomy and physiology. This full-color atlas can accompany and augment any anatomy and physiology textbook and contains cat, fetal pig, and rat dissection photographs.
ISBN: 0895826984Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Don't see the book you are looking for? Take a look in the BU Libraries Catalog!
- The Anatomical RecordThe Anatomical Record publishes new discoveries in the morphological aspects of molecular, cellular, developmental, evolutionary, and systems biology.
- Clinical AnatomyCLINICAL ANATOMY is the Official Journal of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists and the British Association of Clinical Anatomists. The goal of CLINICAL ANATOMY is to provide a medium for the exchange of current information between anatomists and clinicians. This journal embraces anatomy in all its aspects as applied to medical practice. Furthermore, the journal assists physicians and other health care providers in keeping abreast of new methodologies for patient management and informs educators of new developments in clinical anatomy and teaching techniques.
- Journal of AnatomyJournal of Anatomy publishes original papers, invited review articles and book reviews. Its main focus is to understand anatomy through an analysis of structure, function, development and evolution.
- Journal of Cellular PhysiologyThe Journal of Cellular Physiology publishes high-quality original research articles and reviews in areas of eukaryotic cell biology and physiology, focusing on those articles that adopt a molecular mechanistic approach to investigate cell structure and function.
- Journal of MorphologyThe Journal of Morphology publishes research in functional, comparative, evolutionary and developmental morphology from vertebrates and invertebrates.
- Surgical and Radiologic AnatomySurgical and Radiologic Anatomy is an international journal focused on the practical application of anatomical research in clinical scenarios.
Don't see the journal you are looking for? Take a look in the BU Libraries Catalog!
- MedlinePlus: AnatomyA resource from the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus provides excellent easy-to-read content on anatomy and health information.
- Anatomy ZoneAnatomy Zone is your guide to human anatomy, and includes interactive 3D anatomy models and animated videos on the human body.
- Gray's Anatomy OnlineThe Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings from the classic 1918 publication by Henry Gray.
- American Association for AnatomyThe American Association for Anatomy (AAA) is the professional home for more than 2,500 students, teachers, and researchers of the anatomical sciences.