Biomedical Research

A comprehensive database of more than 8,000 academic and popular journals covering many subjects.

Contains key device identification information submitted to the FDA about medical devices that have Unique Device Identifiers (UDI).

“[A]uthoritative, analytic reviews in 37 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.”

Archive for transcriptomics data, which is aimed at storing MIAME- and MINSEQE- compliant data in accordance with MGED recommendations.

Covers many science disciplines, including biochemistry, ecology, microbiology, neurosciences and many others. Materials indexed are in many languages. Coverage is 1989 to the present.

CRD was established in January 1994, and produces and promotes the use of research based knowledge in health and social care. Includes the NHS Economic Evaluation Database, assessing the value of economic interventions.

A full-text EBM database containing meta-reviews of current medical research.

"The Conserved Domain Database is a resource for the annotation of functional units in proteins. Its collection of domain models includes a set curated by NCBI, which utilizes 3D structure to provide insights into sequence/structure/function relationships."

Identifies the conserved domains present in a protein sequence. CD-Search uses RPS-BLAST (Reverse Position-Specific BLAST) to compare a query sequence against position-specific score matrices that have been prepared from conserved domain alignments present in the Conserved Domain Database (CDD).

Direct link to works by BU graduates in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Database.

"DDBJ Center collects nucleotide sequence data as a member of INSDC (International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration) and provides freely available nucleotide sequence data and supercomputer system, to support research activities in life science."

A comprehensive, international database covering a wide variety of health sciences topics. Sometimes called "the European PubMed." Includes preprints from MedRXiv and BioRXiv.

Developed at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel and now maintained by the Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research, is an annotated collection of eukaryotic POL II promoters intended to assist experimental researchers as well as computer analysts in the investigation of eukaryotic transcription signals.

Europe’s primary nucleotide sequence resource.

"Search life sciences literature from trusted sources around the globe, all in one search, accessible by anyone anywhere, for free."

An annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

"Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide."

A public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted and tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles.

A bibliographic database from the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University.Includes: books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

"This database stores curated gene expression DataSets, as well as original Series and Platform records in the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Enter search terms to locate experiments of interest. DataSet records contain additional resources including cluster tools and differential expression queries."

"This database stores individual gene expression profiles from curated DataSets in the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Search for specific profiles of interest based on gene annotation or pre-computed profile characteristics."

"An automated system for constructing putative homology groups from the complete gene sets of a wide range of eukaryotic species."

Public access to nucleotide, protein, and variation databases as well as free alignment and visualization tools.

"RePORTER is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding."

"[A] catalogue/compendium of inherited disorders, other (single-locus) traits, and genes in 298 animal species."

A catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. The database contains textual information, pictures, and reference information.

Free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.

Public data repository for proteomics data. Provides protein and peptide identifications together with the evidence supporting these identifications.

Database of protein structure information.

"The PubChem BioAssay Database contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure."

"The PubChem Compound Database contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups."

"The PubChem Substance Database contains descriptions of samples, from a variety of sources, and links to biological screening results that are available in PubChem BioAssay. If the chemical contents of a sample are known, the description includes links to PubChem Compound."

The primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

A database of the molecular biology and genetics of the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, commonly known as baker’s or budding yeast.

More than 1100 full text electronic journals from 1995/96+ across 16 fields of science, including technical, medical and social sciences.

"The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information."

Includes: Science Citation Index,1965-; Social Science Citation Index, 1965-; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) –1990-present; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) –1990-present.

“Provides access to resources owned by the Boston University libraries or available to Boston University affiliates, to resources available from affiliated libraries, and to resources owned by all other WorldCat libraries.” WorldCat contains records books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscripts, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, and videotapes.