Databases
- Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements (CARDS) Database This link opens in a new windowDatabase of federally funded research projects on dietary supplements.
- Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database This link opens in a new window"The Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States."
- Dietary Supplement Label Database This link opens in a new window"The National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S."
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowHigh quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions. Natural Standard was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Find Print and Online Journals
- Search BU Librariesfor journals on Complementary Therapies: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic journals
Find Print and Online Books
Introduction to Complementary Medicine by
* What is complementary medicine?* What evidence is there to support its use?* What can orthodox medicine learn from holistic practices? Providing a sound introduction to the range of treatments and philosophies usually termed 'complementary and alternative medicine', this book offers a systematic explanation of the philosophies and practices that underpin contemporary complementary medicine.Introduction to Complementary Medicine examines the rise in popularity of complementary medicine and discusses the challenges of developing a more integrated system of health care. Drawing on recent research, this book explores the development, application, evidence, contraindications and appropriateness of a wide range of traditional systems of medicine and healing modalities, including Herbal Medicine, Massage, Osteopathy, Traditional Chinese Medicine, Aromatherapy, Chiropractic, Ayurveda, Yoga and Meditation.Written by leading academics, researchers and experienced practitioners, Introduction to Complementary Medicine is designed to be used as a reference for students and practitioners in a range of health professions.With a foreword by Dr Joseph Pizzorno ND.
ISBN: 1000257649Publication Date: 2020-07-16
Naturopathic Medicine A Comprehensive Guide ; 1st ed. 2022. by
This book offers comprehensive coverage of naturopathic medicine. The principles and values of this profession are already clearly stated (i.e., Find and Treat the Cause; Treat the Whole Person, etc.), but few are the textbooks that directly compare it to conventional or allopathic medicine. To paraphrase the historian of medicine Harris Coulter - in this approach the body reacts creatively to stressors - and the Empirical school or natural medicine approach is more focused on supporting adaptive responses than suppressing symptoms. This is not an attempt to argue that all health issues can get better on their own or that conventional medical interventions aren't capable of producing stellar outcomes, but there remains a concurrent need for a naturopathic approach that helps rebuild the body. This book presents an approach in medicine that works to support adaptive responses of the body, reduce maladaptive responses, address determining factors of health, and sometimes create temporary homeostasis with agents such as drugs (or certain natural medicines). In terms of the basis of disease states, the book teaches about how the lack of coordination in the body's bioregulatory systems can lead to disease, as well as the impact of irreversible degeneration, genetic damage, chronic stress, etc. The book takes the reader to some of the more common and well described reasons for these states of dysfunction, how to assess a patient, and how various natural therapies impact root causes of disease, the long term consequences, and the various clinical manifestations. The book then takes a systems approach - cardiovascular, pulmonary, etc. This is where most books on the subject start, but instead of breaking out a number of conditions and giving protocols of diet, supplements, herbs etc., the author examines how to restore stability and function to that system. Special topics are then covered, ranging from lifespan/primary care considerations to the role of research, the rise of advanced data analytics as decision assistance, to the environmental, cultural, and global determinants of health. Each chapter will additionally include tables that summarize key diagnosis or treatment points, arrayed in an order that reflects the model presented in the book. This is an ideal guide for students in naturopathic medicine, as well as physicians and medical professionals looking to learn more about this field aimed towards maximizing patient resilience.
ISBN: 9783031133886Publication Date: 2022
Alternative Medicine: A Critical Assessment of 150 Modalities by
Alternative medicine (AM) is hugely popular; about 40% of the US general population have used at least one type of alternative treatment in the past year, and in Germany this figure is around 70%. The money spent on AM is considerable: the global market is expected to reach nearly US $ 200 billion by 2025, with most of these funds coming directly out of consumers' pockets. The reasons for this popularity are complex, but misinformation is certainly a prominent factor. The media seem to have an insatiable appetite for the subject and often report uncritically on it. Misinformation about AM on the Internet (currently about 50 million websites are focused on AM) is much more the rule than the exception. Consumers are thus being bombarded with misinformation on AM, and they are ill-protected from such misinformation and therefore prone to making wrong, unwise or dangerous therapeutic decisions, endangering their health and wasting their money. This book is a reference text aimed at guiding consumers through the maze of AM. The concept of the book is straightforward. It has two main parts. The first, short section provides essential background on AM, explaining in simple terms what is (and what is not) good, reliable evidence, and addressing other relevant issues like, for instance, the placebo response, informed consent, integrative medicine, etc. The second and main part consists of 150 short chapters, topically grouped and each dedicated to one single alternative therapeutic or diagnostic method. In each of them, seven critical points are raised. These points relate to issues that are important for consumers' decisions whether it is worth trying the method in question. Restricting the discussion to just seven points means that issues must be prioritized to those themes which are most relevant in the context of each given modality.
ISBN: 9783030126001Publication Date: 2019-07-12
- Search BU Librariesfor books on Complementary Therapies: click 'available in library' or 'available online' on the right side of the screen to limit to print or electronic books