Ask a Librarian
Find Sources
- Current Index to Statistics (CIS) This link opens in a new windowThe Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
- Healthy People - National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowHistorical data from the Healthy People 1990 to 2030 initiative, which guides national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of the US.
- Human Mortality Database This link opens in a new windowA database created to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. Free registration required.
- OECD.Stat This link opens in a new windowStatistical information on world nations, including economy, education, employment, environment, health, tax, trade, GDP, unemployment rate, and more.
- Population Index This link opens in a new window"Population Index, published between 1937 and 1999, was the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presented an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000."
- Public Health and Social Care This link opens in a new windowPolicy statements on public health topics.
- PubMed / MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for biomedical and health sciences information, PubMed/MEDLINE lists more than 33 million citations for articles from life science journals, as well as online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys. Roper Center also includes iPOLL, a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowHistorical U.S. government publication, 1878-2012.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Explore Census Data This link opens in a new windowThe Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
- U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB) This link opens in a new windowA computerized databank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for most countries and areas of the world.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Science Citation Index,1965-; Social Science Citation Index, 1965-; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) –1990-present; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) –1990-present.
Biostatistics for Human Genetic Epidemiology by
This text illustrates how biostatistics may numerically summarize human genetic epidemiology using R, and may be used successfully to solve problems in quantitative genetic epidemiology, biostatistics for human genetic epidemiology. It begins by introducing all the necessary probabilistic and statistical foundations, before moving on to topics related human genetic epidemiology, with R codes illustrations for various examples. This clear and concise book covers human genetic epidemiology, using R in data analysis, including multivariate data analysis.
ISBN: 9783319937908Publication Date: 2018-11-03
Cases in Field Epidemiology: a Global Perspective by Call Number: WA 105 D989 2011ISBN: 9780763778910Publication Date: 2010-10-01Print Edition
Computational and Methodological Statistics and Biostatistics Contemporary Essays in Advancement by
In the statistical domain, certain topics have received considerable attention during the last decade or so, necessitated by the growth and evolution of data and theoretical challenges. This growth has invariably been accompanied by computational advancement, which has presented end users as well as researchers with the necessary opportunities to handle data and implement modelling solutions for statistical purposes. Showcasing the interplay among a variety of disciplines, this book offers pioneering theoretical and applied solutions to practice-oriented problems. As a carefully curated collection of prominent international thought leaders, it fosters collaboration between statisticians and biostatisticians and provides an array of thought processes and tools to its readers. The book thereby creates an understanding and appreciation of recent developments as well as an implementation of these contributions within the broader framework of both academia and industry. Computational and Methodological Statistics and Biostatistics is composed of three main themes: • Recent developments in theory and applications of statistical distributions; • Recent developments in supervised and unsupervised modelling; • Recent developments in biostatistics; and also features programming code and accompanying algorithms to enable readers to replicate and implement methodologies. Therefore, this monograph provides a concise point of reference for a variety of current trends and topics within the statistical domain. With interdisciplinary appeal, it will be useful to researchers, graduate students, and practitioners in statistics, biostatistics, clinical methodology, geology, data science, and actuarial science, amongst others. .
ISBN: 9783030421960Publication Date: 2020
Epidemiology and Biostatistics An Introduction to Clinical Research by
This is a concise introduction to epidemiology and biostatistics written specifically for medical students and first-time learners of clinical research methods. It presents the core concepts of epidemiology and of biostatistics and illustrates them with extensive examples from the clinical literature. It is the only book on the market written to speak directly to medical students and first-time biomedical researchers by using language and examples that are easy to understand. This newly updated second edition is extensively rewritten to provide the clearest explanations and examples. There is also a sister-text, a 150-problem workbook of practice problems that can be purchased alongside this textbook. The author continues to provide a text that is attractively fast-paced and concise for use in condensed courses, such as those taught in medical school. The book is an excellent review for the epidemiology section of the United States Medical Licensing Examination Part I which all medical students must take at the end of the second year.
ISBN: 9783319966441Publication Date: 2019
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by Call Number: WA 950 A813e 2020ISBN: 9781284128352Publication Date: 2018-09-12Print Edition
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health is the only textbook that combines the disciplines of medical epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in one convenient resource. Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this text presents the information with a clinical focus, using real-life medical examples throughout. With review questions in each chapter to maximize knowledge retention and target key areas of review, it serves as an outstanding resource for USMLE prep - and is recommended by the American Board of Preventive Medicine as a top review source for its core specialty examination.-- Publisher
ISBN: 9780323642019Publication Date: 2020-01-29
Pediatric Epidemiology by
Pediatric epidemiology differs substantially from general epidemiology especially when it comes to ethical, developmental and societal aspects. This unique book addresses biological considerations and ethical and legal questions in dealing with pediatric and adolescent populations. Classic topics, such as how to recruit representative samples, how to deal with confounding variables, and how to work with genetic information are the core areas of the book are also in focus. Last but not the least, this volume adds to the current understanding of global trends in occurrence, transmission, and control of epidemic pediatric diseases. This book not only serves as a textbook for epidemiologists, pediatricians, geneticists, and child and public health specialists but is also a key reference for those embarking on pediatric cohort studies and epidemiological studies involving the pediatric population.
ISBN: 9783318061222Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Don't see the book you are looking for? Take a look in the BU Libraries Catalog!
- Annals of EpidemiologyAnnals of Epidemiology is devoted to epidemiologic research and methodological development. The journal emphasizes the application of epidemiologic methods to issues that affect the distribution and determinants of human illness in diverse contexts, and their impact on public health.
- BiostatisticsBiostatistics publishes papers that develop innovative statistical methods with applications to the understanding of human health and disease.
- EpidemiologyEpidemiology is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes original research on the full spectrum of epidemiologic topics. Journal content ranges from cancer, heart disease and other chronic illnesses to reproductive, environmental, psychosocial, infectious-disease and genetic epidemiology.
- Global Health, Epidemiology and GenomicsGlobal Health, Epidemiology and Genomics is an open access journal publishing original research articles as well as review articles that increase our understanding of human health and disease worldwide.
- The International Journal of BiostatisticsThe International Journal of Biostatistics (IJB) seeks to publish new biostatistical models and methods, new statistical theory, as well as original applications of statistical methods, for important practical problems arising from the biological, medical, public health, and agricultural sciences with an emphasis on semiparametric methods.
- International Journal of EpidemiologyThe International Journal of Epidemiology is an essential requirement for anyone who needs to keep up to date with epidemiological advances and new developments throughout the world. It encourages communication among those engaged in the research, teaching, and application of epidemiology of both communicable and non-communicable disease, including research into health services and medical care.
- Journal of Clinical EpidemiologyThe Journal of Clinical Epidemiology (JCE) aims to advance science that can improve health care decision-making and contribute to the evolving discipline of clinical epidemiology.
- Journal of Survey Statistics and MethodologyThe Journal of Survey Statistics and Methodology publishes cutting-edge scholarly articles on statistical and methodological issues for sample surveys, censuses, administrative record systems, and other related data.
- Paediatric and Perinatal EpidemiologyPaediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologyis an international, peer reviewed journal that crosses the boundaries between epidemiologists, paediatricians, developmental psychologists, environmental specialists, obstetricians, child health specialists and genetic epidemiologists.
Don't see the journal you are looking for? Take a look in the BU Libraries Catalog!
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
- CDC: Fast StatsFast Stats provides quick and easy access to statistics on a variety of health topics and the latest data in reports, databases and other resources.
- CDC WonderWONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
- City Health DashboardCity Health Dashboard provides communities and city leaders with an array of regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty – to improve the health and well-being of everyone in the community.
- Collection Of Biostatistics Research Archive (COBRA)COBRA - the Collection Of Biostatistics Research Archive - is a scholar-driven repository of biostatistics working papers, with major departments and institutions contributing their prepublication materials to the collection.
- Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities.
- Country Health Rankings & RoadmapsCounty Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R), a program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, draws attention to why there are differences in health within and across communities. The program highlights policies and practices that can help everyone be as healthy as possible.
- EuroStatStatistical office of the European Union that includes data and publications on topics including public health, environment, population and social conditions.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to help guide public health and health policy decisions.
- OSHA: Occupational EpidemiologyOccupational epidemiology involves the application of epidemiologic methods to populations of workers. Occupational epidemiologic studies may involve looking at workers exposed to a variety of chemical, biological or physical (e.g., noise, heat, radiation) agents to determine if the exposures result in the risk of adverse health outcomes.
- State Health Facts - Kaiser Family FoundationMore than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.
- WHO: Weekly Epidemiological RecordThe Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) serves as an essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including emerging or re-emerging infections.