LibGuides: Accessibility and Disability : Embase

What is a controlled vocabulary?

Controlled Vocabulary is "a list of standard terms that categorize articles based on their content (such terms will vary from database to database)" (Aromataris and Riitano, 2014). Many, but not all, controlled vocabularies are organized by hierarchies. Depending on the database, when searching a controlled vocabulary term you can choose to "explode" it. Exploding is when you search the selected term and any that fall under it in the hierarchy.

Citation: Aromataris, E., & Riitano, D. (2014). Systematic Reviews: Constructing a Search Strategy and Searching for Evidence. AJN The American Journal of Nursing, 114(5), 49. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NAJ.0000446779.99522.f6

Suggested Controlled Vocabulary for Embase

Embase's Emtree Terms
Embase uses Emtree terms as its controlled vocabulary. You can look up different terms in the database's designated section linked above. Embase automatically explodes their Emtree terms, but you can turn this off by selecting Index Term or /de under the drop-down menu to the right of "Extend search using:"

'disabled person'/exp: This includes 'disabled athlete', 'disabled student', 'handicapped child', 'mentally disabled person', and 'physically disabled person'
'disability'/exp: This includes ‘ADL disability’ OR ‘immobility’ OR‘invalidity’ OR ‘limited mobility’ OR ‘neurodisability’ OR ‘physical disability’ OR ‘walking difficulty’ OR ‘work disability’
'disability assessment'/exp: This includes ‘Disabilities of the Arm, Shoulder and Hand (score)’ OR ‘Expanded Disability Status Scale’ OR ‘Hip Disability and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score’ OR ‘International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health’ OR ‘Neck Disability Index’ OR ‘Oswestry Disability Index’ OR ‘Roland Morris disability questionnaire’ OR ‘Sheehan Disability Scale’ OR ‘short physical performance battery’ OR ‘Shoulder Pain and Disability Index’ OR ‘University of California Los Angeles shoulder score’ OR ‘World Health Organization Disability Assessment Schedule’
'mental disease'/exp: This includes 'autism'/exp OR 'anxiety disorder'/exp OR 'dissociative disorder'/exp OR 'emotional disorder'/exp OR 'learning disorder'/exp OR 'mood disorder'/exp OR 'personality disorder'/exp OR 'schizophrenia spectrum disorder'